July 25, 2009

  • The story of my shitty fucking life

    It never, never, never fails.  My old rusty truck, with no working seat belt and plywood where the floorboards used to be and 10 mpg in the city, is a 1983.

    Ah, well....I couldn't afford the insurance on a new vehicle anyway.

    I don't qualify for food stamps because my income is something like $15.00 a month too high.  I pay taxes on my disability pension, but I didn't get the "stimulus" check this year because I don't work.  When I reach 65 I qualify for neither Social Security nor Medicare.

    Fuck.  Fuck this shithole we call the United States of America.  Fuck the whole fucking shitty world.

    But hey, let's look on the bright side.  Maybe some of YOU can qualify for this new $1 billion taxpayer-funded "stimulus" program.  Here's the link:   http://autos.yahoo.com/articles/autos_content_landing_pages/1029/meltdown-101-the-cash-for-clunkers-program/ .  I'll gladly subsidize you so that you can get a new fuel-efficient vehicle.  What are friends for?

    Meltdown 101: The Cash for Clunkers Program

    By KEN THOMAS, Associated Press Writer

    WASHINGTON
    – Got an old gas guzzler in the garage? Car shoppers can take advantage
    of new government incentives worth $3,500 to $4,500. Owners can scrap
    their clunker in exchange for a new, more fuel-efficient vehicle, and
    lop off thousands of dollars from the sticker price. Congress approved
    the "Car Allowance Rebate System," or "CARS," program last month to
    boost auto sales and attempt to retire some inefficient cars and
    trucks. Here's a look at the program:

    Q: Which vehicles qualify?

    A: Cars and trucks must be 1984 models or newer to be eligible for a trade-in rebate.

Comments (10)

  • Goddamn, John. I hear you like no other. My life would have been so different if I would have just had a fucking decent pair of shoes growing up! Being poor and having it rubbed in your face is a formula for disaster. I understand the frustration and agree completely with your sentiments. Bunch of theiving leeches! Revolution is inevitable. Believe that.

  • Uh, does anyone believe that cash for clunkers thing? I would do that but that means that I have a car note and since we as Americans don't have much money, can I just get that stimulus on getting my clunker repaired?

  • @Jade_Orchid - Sorry, Jade.    The program does exist, and the conditions are not terribly onerous.  But you do have to buy a NEW car, because they're trying to not only get old gas-guzzlers off the road, but stimulate the ailing auto industry at the same time.  It's not a bad idea, actually.  I just fall through the cracks as usual.

  • @Xcholo4u - I wish I could believe in the revolution, Miguel.  Unlike you, I got a college education, but in the end it's the same as if I'd grown up in the ghetto.  I worked blue collar jobs all of my working life because I rejected the "Military Industrial Complex" and identified with the poor and oppressed while awaiting the "revolution" we were all so excited about in the 1960s, which of course never happened.  Stupid me, huh?  But I couldn't have done anything any different; I had to be who I was, and am.

    I often fantasize about what might have happened if the million men in the Million Man March had had guns and the determination to use them.  But how would you ever organize something like that?  And the real truth is that violent revolution always just replaces one group of oppressors with another. 

    It's in the very nature of human beings to be greedy and selfish, and oppress others in the process.  There are always winners and losers in this Darwinian world.  I'm just lamenting the fact that, throughout my life, I've managed to fall through pretty much every crack that exists.  I'm quite exhausted with it.

  • Damn.  Howcome you won't qualify for medicare or SS when you're 65?  That sucks about your car.  Maybe you can write to the president and beg him to include older cars?

  • I'm neither a lover or hater of Obama but I think a lot of these stimulus programs are being put into practice without enough thought and are going to come back and bite us in the ass down the road.  I don't think encouraging people to go into debt with a car rebate just to save a few mpg is the solution. 

    Some time ago I saw something on TV about a car being made in India called the TaTa that sells for around $2000. USD.  Not long ago I read an article about how, during our automotive and financial crisis, the government is allowing them to be imported here by the thousands.  Seems to me if our government wants to stimulate our economy they would prohibit this type of practice.

    None of this helps your situation.

  • I hear ya, John. I myself don't believe in that type of revolution either! I think it would be foolish to assume that things will get better with time. The type of revolution that WILL come is one of complete anarchy and thuggery. I bet that Street Gangs and Mafia will create a monster that will bring an end to organization as we know it. There ARE a lot of guns and weapons out there, and plenty of people itching to use them. It's only a matter of time. In Los Angeles, there are already areas that the system has lost complete control of. Police WILL NOT come. You could place a 911 call of any kind and they WILL NOT come. Any patrol car will be swiss cheesed within seconds of coming near. Guns and Machine guns are worn and displayed. There is no hiding. Gangs rule. It's not announced or spoken of, and you can understand why, but it's common knowledge to everyone who lives around these areas. I've seen it. They lose more and more everyday. And it's like a cancer. It's a scary thought.

  • I'm not sure I've ever read anything more cynical and full of hate.

  • @blonde_apocalypse - Consider yourself fortunate then.  And read Miguel's comment, right above yours.  The wealthy and empowered have no need of cynicism.

  • Fuckin' bullshit.

    I'd rather give you a subsidy than all those other ass holes.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment